Feature - Permission to Edit Project Objects

This feature has been released into the platform.

Beginning on 4/24/14, project Administrators can configure editing permissions on individual dashboards, reports, and metrics to prevent changes in production or otherwise protected environments.

Features-ObjectLocking-Image01.png
  • Standard GD behavior: all Editors and Admins can modify all objects (default for all new objects)
  • New option: Only Admins can modify a dashboard or reports/metrics in the dashboard
    • A Lock icon is displayed next to these objects.

To receive notifications on this feature’s availability, click the subscribe link at the top of the page.

How to restrict Editor's permissions on a dashboard

  1. Edit a dashboard:
    Features-ObjectLocking-Image02.png
  2. From the Actions menu, select Settings....
    Features-ObjectLocking-Image03.png
  3. Set permissions for the entire dashboard.
    Features-ObjectLocking-Image04.png
  4. Now, all Editors are prevented from modifying the dashboard and all reports and metrics in the dashboard.
    Features-ObjectLocking-Image05.png
  • In the future, if you remove restrictions at the dashboard level, you must remove manually restrictions from the reports and metrics in reports/metrics list.
  • Permission restrictions cannot be applied to individual dashboard tabs.

Editing permissions for reports and metrics

  • Report/Metric detail and list allows you to manage edit permissions
    Features-ObjectLocking-Image06.png
  • You cannot change permissions for reports and metrics if they are used in dashboards with edit restrictions. You must remove the dashboard edit restrictions first.
    Features-ObjectLocking-Image07.png

Locking objects for Powered By GoodData environments

Edit restrictions are stored in project templates. If you create project templates from a project containing edit restrictions, the restrictions persist when you create a new project from the template.

  • Object restrictions are retained in cloned projects and objects that have been exported and imported individually.

What to expect in future

  1. Any feedback on edit permissions? Contact us.
  2. Drafts and ad-hoc reporting: Soon, all new objects will be created as drafts visible to their owners only. Objects will need to be shared explicitly with other users. This change will help to declutter the UI and to develop personalized reporting. Opt-in to test before official release.
  3. Later this year, you will be able to set Edit/View permissions/restrictions for a group of users.
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Robert Ault

    How will this change the process of copying reports or dashboards between projects?

    Have the grey pages been updated to include these permissions for the meta data export & import? 

    Will there be a change to the REST API for this? 

    For the Drafts implementation, will objects need to be shared explicitly after having been copied into a new project or will users given access to multiple projects carry over? Will there be an API for the sharing feature? 

  • Avatar
    Filip Stastny

    Hello Robert,

    There are answers to your questions:

    Q: How will this change the process of copying reports or dashboards between projects?

    A: There won’t be any change in current process, as all the exported objects will carry the new settings with it as a part of the export.

    Q: Have the grey pages been updated to include these permissions for the meta data export & import?

    A: The grey pages won’t be changed, as all the exported objects will carry the new settings with it as a part of the export and the import will respect the exported values automatically.

    Q: Will there be a change to the REST API for this?

    A: There will be a new API and bulk API delivered for the new functionalities. The API will be described in our API documentation when the feature is released. (http://docs.gooddata.apiary.io)

    Q: For the Drafts implementation, will objects need to be shared explicitly after having been copied into a new project or will users given access to multiple projects carry over? Will there be an API for the sharing feature?

    A: When the object is being copied into a new project, it will carry the “shared/non-shared” settings with it. The settings will be respected after the object is imported into a new project. There will be also API for setting of the “shared/non-shared” flag.

    Sincerely

    Filip

  • Avatar
    Steve Olson

    This feature has been delayed. Please check the date at the top of this document for the updated release date. Thank you for your patience.

  • Avatar
    Tina Yates

    New feature is great, thank you!

  • Avatar
    Max Tucker

    Permissions feature is very useful and gives clearer definition to the editor / admin roles. Many thanks!

  • Avatar
    Elizabeth Lewis

    WOW!  Thank you!!  This is a great new feature.

Powered by Zendesk